Chapter 03.04

“I’m trying to be happy, William.”

“You’re going about it the wrong way.”

“And how would you propose I go about being happy?”

“By following your heart.”

“I thought that’s what I was doing with you.”

“Maybe a bit. But you are so young still.  How could you possibly know what you want already?”

“Don’t you know?” I asked.

“No,” he admitted.  “Do you think that messing around with my best friend’s wife was on my life program?  Certainly I had no intentions of going this far.”

I fell silent.  I was crushed by his words.

“Look, I realize this isn’t ideal for us, but this is what it is.  Why can’t we just play it out? See where it takes us?” I could hear the pleading in my voice, and I didn’t like it.  Not one bit.

“Come away with me? Leave Lila here with her father.  We can start a new life together, just us.”

“William, I can’t…” I hated myself for saying it.

“We’re done, Toni,” he said with a sigh.

“What? No!”

“Yeah.  I can’t do this anymore.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

